Tom Benson, McAllister inducted into Saints Hall of Fame

The Saints Hall of Fame elected members of its 2012 class Friday.

Team owner Tom Benson and former running back Deuce McAllister are the newest members.

Mr. Benson said it's been a wonderful 25 years and added, "we are going to win the Super Bowl in our own stadium."

McAllister played for the Saints for eight seasons from 2001-2008. A two-time Pro Bowler (2002 and 2003), McAllister was a first-round draft pick of the Saints in the 2001 NFL Draft (23rd overall).

McAllister retired as the leading rusher in the history of the franchise, amassing 6,096 yards on 1,429 carries (4.3 avg.). He is the all-time leader in touchdowns with 55 and rushing touchdowns with 55. In addition, McAllister ranks fifth all-time in scoring with 330 points and ranks tenth in receptions with 234. He led the Saints in rushing in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006. McAllister was named first-team All-NFC by Pro Football Weekly in both 2002 and 2003.

Deuce McAllister tweeted, "Couldn't be more happy and proud to be an inductee to the Saints hall of Fame especially with owner Mr. Tom Benson"

Former Saint Steve Gleason is also being honored as a player who made contributions to the franchise and the community as a whole.

A defensive back and special teams standout from 2000-2006, Gleason is the first former New Orleans Saints player to be honored outside of Hall of Fame inductees. Gleason is being honored as a special player who made special contributions to both the franchise and the New Orleans community as a whole.

Watch FOX 8 News at 4 and 5pm for more information on this story.