LSU picked to repeat as SEC Champs

Tyrann Mathieu (AP Photo)
Tyrann Mathieu (AP Photo)

The talk from LSU players at the annual SEC media gathering this week has been simple; get back to the national championship game.

The media covering SEC football predict the Tigers will win the conference in 2012. In recent years that has meant a birth in the BCS game.

The media overwhelmingly chose LSU, giving the Tigers 129 votes, which nearly doubled last year's BCS champion Alabama, who received 65 votes. Georgia was third with 14 votes. LSU also had 139 votes to win the SEC West while Alabama was second with 72.

The last six BCS champions have come from the SEC and since the BCS started in 1998, the SEC has won the most national championships with eight.

The Tigers are also well represented on the pre-season All-SEC teams, landing the most picks of any school on the first, second and third team lists with 13. LSU also had the most first team All-SEC selections as well with seven.

The Tigers had the most players on the first team defense with four players including defensive backs Tyrann Mathieu and Eric Reid and defensive linemen Barkevious Mingo and Sam Montgomery.

Mathieu was also named the SEC's first team return specialist along with Punter Brad Wing.

The only offensive first teamer for the Tigers is offensive lineman Alex Hurst.

Voted to the 2nd team All-SEC are:offensive lineman Chris Faulk, center P.J. Lonergan and kicker Drew Alleman. Rounding out the 3rd team all SEC is defensive lineman Bennie Logan and defensive back Tharold Simon.