Appeals court judges elected without opposition

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Seventeen state appeals court judges were elected to office when no one signed up to run against them on the Nov. 6 ballot. A look at who won the office without a challenger:

1st CIRCUIT (based in Baton Rouge):

Vanessa Guidry-Whipple (incumbent), D-Bourg.

Page McClendon (incumbent), R-Mandeville.

Will Crain, R-Madisonville.

2nd CIRCUIT (based in Shreveport):

Felicia Toney Williams (incumbent), D-Tallulah.

D. Milton Moore III (incumbent), D-Monroe.

3rd CIRCUIT (based in Lake Charles):

Elizabeth Pickett (incumbent), D-Many.

Billy Ezell (incumbent), R-Lake Charles.

John Saunders (incumbent), D-Ville Platte.

Sylvia Cooks (incumbent), D-Lafayette.

John Conery, R-New Iberia.

4th CIRCUIT (based in New Orleans):

James McKay III (incumbent), D-New Orleans.

Edwin Lombard (incumbent), D-New Orleans.

5th CIRCUIT (based in Gretna):

Susan Chehardy (incumbent), R-River Ridge.

Steve Windhorst, R-Gretna.

Hans Liljeberg, R-Metairie.

Robert Murphy, R-Metairie.

Robert Chaisson (incumbent), D-Destrehan.

Source: Louisiana Secretary of State's Office

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.