More parishes added to aid program

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Workers and self-employed individuals in Iberville and St. Mary parishes have been approved to receive disaster unemployment because of Hurricane Isaac.

Officials of the Louisiana Workforce Commission said the following parishes are now eligible for the program.

- Assumption, Iberville, St Helena, St James, St. Mary, Terrebonne and Washington, deadline to file Oct. 8.

- St. Charles and Tangipahoa, deadline to file Oct. 5.

- Ascension, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. John the Baptist and St. Tammany, deadline to file Oct. 2.

The program is federally funded and administered by the Workforce Commission. Claims may be filed online at People without internet access can call the commission at 866-783-5567.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)