FOX 8 wins two national Edward R. Murrow awards - FOX 8 WVUE New Orleans News, Weather, Sports

FOX 8 wins two national Edward R. Murrow awards


WVUE FOX 8 News received Wednesday one of the nation's top journalism honors by winning two National Edward R. Murrow awards.

The first winning entry was in the "News Series" category for "Louisiana Purchased", our joint investigation into the state campaign finance system with | The Times-Picayune. The collaboration, which began in mid 2013, exposed illegal activities, questionable practices and toothless ethics enforcement in Louisiana's campaign finance system.

Louisiana Purchased

The "Louisiana Purchased" team includes Lee Zurik, Jon Turnipseed, Tom Wright, Mikel Schaefer, Greg Phillips, EQ Vance and Wes Cook from WVUE and Manuel Torres, Lauren McGaughy, Tim Morris, Ted Jackson, Dmitriy Pritykin and Dan Swenson from | The Times-Picayune.

"I'm extremely proud of our accomplishments," said WVUE News Director Mikel Schaefer. "I'm thrilled our partnership with | The Times-Picayune was honored." 

"We are proud of our partnership with WVUE and the public service journalism we have produced together, which is already yielding results for the citizens of Louisiana. "said Jim Amoss, | The Times-Picayune's editor and vice president of content.

Body of Evidence

The second winner was in the "Continuing Coverage" category for "Body of Evidence", Lee Zurik's expansive series into St. Tammany Parish Coroner Peter Galvan. The over 40-part investigation uncovered millions in wasted taxpayer money all while Galvan was jet-setting around the globe on the public dime. "Body of Evidence" ended with Galvan pleading guilty in federal court.

"We are humbled to win for two separate investigations," Schaefer said. "This is further validation of the important work we are doing for our viewers in Southeast Louisiana and Mississippi."

Along with Lee Zurik, the "Body of Evidence" team includes Donny Pearce, Jon Turnipseed, Tom Wright, Mikel Schaefer, and Greg Phillips.

The Radio Television Digital News Association, which hands out the prestigious awards, made the announcement Wednesday morning. The awards ceremony is in early October in New York City.

This is the third consecutive year FOX 8 has won two national Edward R. Murrow awards, and we have been honored with seven in the past four years.

For a complete list of winners, visit


Natl Murrow Awards 2014


Follow FOX 8:     

Copyright 2014 WVUE. All rights reserved.

  • Sign up for emails from FOX 8 Live

    Get news and forecasts from FOX 8 delivered to your inbox by signing up for the lists below.

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by WorldNow

Louisiana Media Company, LLC.
1025 S. Jefferson Davis Parkway
New Orleans, LA 70125

General Number: (504) 486-6161
News Tips: (504) 483-1503
News Room Fax: (504) 483-1543

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVUE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
WVUE's Public Inspection File can now be accessed online. To access the online public inspection file click here: