LSU among four SEC baseball teams hosting regionals

LSU among four SEC baseball teams hosting regionals

NEW ORLEANS, LA (WVUE) - The LSU Tigers are one of four SEC teams who will host regional NCAA Division I baseball tournaments. The 16 hosts were announced Sunday night.

The other SEC team announced are defending National Champion Vanderbilt, Florida and Texas A&M. Three ACC teams also hosting are Louisville, Florida State and Miami.

The 16 teams announced are already entered into the field of 64 teams with the remainder announced Monday.

The tournaments begin Friday and consist of four teams at each site under a double-elimination format. Winners of the regionals advance to the super regionals which will take place the following week.

The remaining regional hosts announced Sunday night are: UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, Houston, Oklahoma State, TCU, Cal State Fullerton, Dallas Baptist, Illinois and Missouri State.

Local teams in the running to make the 64-team field are: Tulane, Southeastern and UL Lafayette.

Copyright 2015 WVUE. All rights reserved.