3 local schools celebrate national award

3 local schools celebrate national award

NEW ORLEANS, LA (WVUE) - Three local schools celebrate national honors.

New Orleans' Ben Franklin High School, Covington's St. Paul's Catholic School and Montegut's Pointe-aux-Chenes Elementary have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2015.

Schools get the honor for overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The U.S. Department of Education awarded four Baton Rouge area schools the honor. They include Baton Rouge Magnet High, St. Aloysius Catholic, St. James Episcopal Day School and Louisiana State University Laboratory.

Other Louisiana schools celebrating the honor include Rayne's Martin Petitjean Elementary and Crowley's South Crowley Elementary.

335 schools across the country share the honor this year.

Copyright 2015 WVUE. All rights reserved.