4 more parishes eligible for Federal Disaster Relief - FOX 8, WVUE, fox8live.com, weather, app, news, saints

4 more parishes eligible for Federal Disaster Relief

Sugarmill Road area (FOX 8 Photo) Sugarmill Road area (FOX 8 Photo)

Jackson, Rapides, Red River and Sabine parishes are now eligible for federal disaster relief.

The federal disaster declaration issued on march 13 for seven Louisiana parishes has been expanded to include 23 additional parishes as a result of the severe storms and flooding that hit Louisiana in early March.

The parishes currently designated for assistance are: Allen, Ascension, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Calcasieu, Claiborne, De Soto, Grant, Jackson, La Salle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll and Winn.

Individuals and business owners in any of the parishes designated eligible for federal disaster relief can register for assistance three ways.

  • Online at DistasterAssistance.gov
  • Over the phone by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362)
  • In person at a disaster recovery center. A full list of currently operating DRCs can be found here.

Assistance provided by FEMA for homeowners and renters can include grants for rent, temporary housing and home repairs to their primary residence, as well as other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs.

Copyright 2016 WVUE. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly