Former LSU football captains compile ‘Next Great 25’ team

Updated: Oct. 24, 2018 at 7:17 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) - LSU football is celebrating is 125th season. As part of the celebration, team captains from 1993-2017 compiled a list of the 25 best players by position over the last quarter century.

The last time this was done was in 1992 for the school’s Centennial Football Celebration. That team was dubbed the “Team of the Century." This team is “The Next Great 25."

Players had to fall into one of the following categories: First Team All-America, First Team All-SEC, or first round draft pick.


C Ben Wilkerson, 2001-04

OL Andrew Whitworth, 2002-05

OL Alan Faneca, 1995-97

OL La'el Collins, 2011-14

OL Trai Turner, 2012-13

QB Matt Flynn, 2004-07

RB Leonard Fournette, 2014-16

RB Kevin Faulk, 1995-98

WR Odell Beckham Jr., 2011-13

WR Josh Reed, 1999-2001

WR Michael Clayton, 2001-03


DL Glenn Dorsey, 2004-07

DL Kyle Williams, 2002-05

DL Marcus Spears, 2001-04

DL Anthony McFarland, 1995-98

LB Bradie James, 1999-2002

LB Ali Highsmith, 2004-07

LB Kelvin Sheppard, 2007-10

DB Patrick Peterson, 2008-10

DB Tyrann Mathieu, 2010-11

DB LaRon Landry, 2003-06

DB Corey Webster, 2001-04

Special Teams

RS Trindon Holliday, 2006-09

PK Colt David, 2005-08

P Donnie Jones, 2000-03

The listing of the team, along with biographical information on those players, can be found at

Copyright 2018 WAFB. All rights reserved.