FOX 8 honored with 2 Murrow awards

Award winners (Source: Instagram)
Award winners (Source: Instagram)

FOX 8 was honored Monday night in New York with two prestigious national Edward R. Murrow awards. The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) presented the awards, which recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

The ceremony took place at the annual RTDNA Awards Dinner and Show in New York City.

Lee Zurik accepted the continuing coverage award for his investigative series "Body of Evidence." It questioned how now-convicted former St. Tammany Parish Coroner Peter Galvan misused millions of taxpayer dollars.

Manuel Torres with The Times-Picayune picked up the national Murrow for the news series category. The paper and Lee won for the joint investigation "Louisiana Purchased." The reports exposed illegal activities, questionable practices and ethics enforcement in the state's campaign finance system.

This year, RTDNA awarded 98 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting and more. RTDNA received more than 4,000 entries during the 2014 awards season, surpassing 2013 by more than 500 entries and setting an all-time record for entries in what proved to be one of the most competitive Edward R. Murrow Awards seasons in RTDNA history.

This is the third consecutive year that FOX 8 has been honored with two Murrow awards.

Copyright 2014 WVUE. All rights reserved.